Yes, you can!

When adding participants to a conversation with a link, you can also simultaneously add them to a workspace with the same link by checking the box next to "Add Invitees to Workspace"

When enabled, invitees will also be added to the workspace the conversation is in.  This grants them team privileges, including the ability to start conversations with team members.

When disabled, invitees will have guest access to only this conversation.